top of page
  • Writer's pictureShh I am Reading

Heir of Ashes by Jina S. Bazzar


Genre: Urban Fantasy, Science Fiction Publisher: Creativia Publication Date: April 1, 2018 Pages: 424 Format: ePub Goodreads | Storygraph

Buy on: Amazon | Smashwords | Kobo
















At the age of twelve, Roxanne Fosch had a perfectly normal life. By the time she was twenty-two, she was being hunted.


After being trapped for years in the clutches of the Paranormal Scientists Society, Roxanne escapes and sets on a dangerous quest for the truth.


Hunted by scientists keen to exploit her extraordinary abilities, and dangerous factions whose plans she cannot fathom, Roxanne discovers a shocking secret about her past. But is everything she's ever known a lie?



I received this review copy from the author for free. My review is entirely voluntary.


This book ticked off all the right boxes for me in terms of a fantasy mixed with science fiction. I loved the main character Roxanne/Eliza. She's this perfect mix of strong, independent woman who boldly faces life with strength and a whole lotta sass. Although she's been handed a fairly crappy deck of cards in life, she seemed to not let that break her spirit. I absolutely appreciated her as a character. Who I was not sold on at all was Logan, and especially not sold on Rafael. In all honestly, Roxanne carried the story perfectly on her own and there wasn't really a need for romance, although as a writer myself, I do understand why the author put it in there, but Logan just gave me the heebies.

Definitely an A plus read for me and quickly slotted itself amongst my favourite reads for 2022. (Yes, we're a smidge behind.)


Rating





My name is Jina S. Bazzar. I’m a freelance writer, a blogger, a mother, a baker, a chocolate fiend, a coffee enthusiast, and sometimes a poet. A wanderer in this vast world, I’m just another body with a passion for the written word. There is no boundary I can’t cross, no limit I can’t push; my mind is my passport, my thoughts my mode of transportation.


I was born and raised in a quiet, small town in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil, where I’ve had a happy and fulfilling childhood.


Like most writers out there, my love of books began at a young age. Unlike most authors out there, I never aspired to become one.


Soon after high school graduation, I developed a chronic disease that caused gradual vision loss. I was blind at the age of twenty-three, and reading became one of many things I could no longer do.

That is, until I started working for an organization for women with disabilities and learned about screen readers. After I quit my job, I picked up reading with vengeance, but soon realized it was no longer enough, and so I started writing, this time with an aim to pursue a career. Heir of Ashes is my debut novel, a creation born from my love of anything fairy, of action-packed stories and a touch of romance. Besides fiction, I’ve written dozens of articles for Conscious Talk magazine, on topics of health, food, poetry and the writer’s life.


When I’m not writing or networking on social media, you can find me in the kitchen, listening to loud music while baking (often misshapen) goodies, or cooking favorite dishes.


My inspiration comes from most anything, a discussion, a friend, an animal or plant, events, memories, music, etc – in other words, from life itself.


Connect with Jina

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page